By Haley Bianco

Last year’s crystal pillar award Photo courtesy of Bieber
Last year’s crystal pillar award
Photo courtesy of Bieber

KU’s electronic media department recently received four Mid- Atlantic Regional Emmy nominations. KU swept the College- Live Sports Production category, receiving all of the nominations, guaranteeing a win for KU. The electronic media department was also honored with two nominations in the Arts and Entertainment/Public Affairs category.

“This is the third year we’ve entered,” said department of electronic media Chairperson, Helen Bieber. “We have brought home 10 nominations, one Crystal Pillar in hand, and at least one more at the awards ceremony coming up in September.”

In the College- Live Sports Production category, the production “Kutztown University Football vs. Edinboro University” was nominated. For this production, Angela Newton was director, Calvin Spohn was assistant director, Ryan Hill was technical director and Professor Cara Cotellese served as faculty advisor.

Also in the College- Live Sports Production category, “PSAC Basketball Playoffs” was nominated. Nominees include Marilyn Miller as director, Eliot Lerch as assistant director, Zach Langdon as technical director and Professor Cotellese as faculty advisor.

In the Arts and Entertainment/Public Affairs Category, “Saint Peter’s Village” received a nomination. Miller served as director and videographer, alongside David Youndt as videographer, Emmanuel Metayer as editor and Professor Bieber as executive producer.

“Ostara” also received a nomination in the Arts and Entertainment/Public Affairs Category. Nominees for this production include: Dylan Hitcho as producer, director, videographer and editor, professor Bieber and Andrew Skitko as executive producers.

The competition includes universities such as Temple, Penn State, Drexel, Duquesne, Neumann and the University of Delaware. The Mid-Atlantic region covers parts of Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Ohio. “The nominations I believe speak not only to the talent of our students, but also to the strong education the electronic media department provides our students from day one,” said Bieber.

In addition to KU student entries, six KU alumni also received nominations for their work at companies such as Comcast SportsNet, Top Flight Media, WHP, Harrisburg, CBS 3, Philadelphia and WTAE, Pittsburg.

The 32nd Mid-Atlantic Emmy Awards will be presented on Sept. 20 at the Hilton Hotel in Philadelphia where KU students, faculty and alumni will be present to claim their crystal pillars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: