Field Hockey ranked fifth heading into 2018 and looks back on 50 years

By Kyle Krajewski
Sports Editor

KU was recently ranked fifth in the PSAC Preseason Poll, as voted on by league coaches. It should be noted that the top six teams at the end of the regular season make the conference playoffs.

The 2018 Golden Bears will be led by two juniors who received both All-American and All-PSAC First Team accolades. Kyra Wozniak led the team in goals with 13, almost double that of the next leading goal scorer. Mackenzie Fuhrman led the team with nine assists and had five goals herself. The Wozniak and Fuhrman duo were the first and second leaders in points on the team, with 27 and 19 respectively.

Ranked ahead of KU in the preseason poll was the reigning national champion Shippensburg University at number one, then Millersville University, East Stroudsburg University and defending PSAC champions West Chester University.

KU also recently named their All-Time Team in celebration of 50 seasons. Eighteen players were named to the team, spanning from 1973 through 2015. Twelve of the 18 players are currently in the KU Hall of Fame.

Sixty-two players in total were on the ballot. In order to make the ballot for consideration for the All-Time Team, players needed to meet one of the following requirements:

  • Member of KU Athletics Hall of Fame, for accomplishments primarily in field hockey;
  • All-America selection;
  • Multiple all-conference selections, or one First Team selection;
  • Rank in Top-2 in School History in Career Stat Category;
  • And/or 1970s Team MVP.

The All-Time Team is comprised of the following players:


  • Justine Baer (1998-01)
  • Anna Behm (2012-15)
  • Barb Bergstresser (1982-85)
  • Shannon Daggett (1994-97)
  • Kelley Healey (2005-08)
  • Denise Long (1980-83)
  • Lisa Marrella (1986-89)
  • Jenn Wolfgang (1994-97)


  • Laura Belfatti (2003-06)
  • Barbara Francis (1975-78)
  • Donna Long (1982-85)
  • Erin Reynolds (2010-13)


  • Colleen Healey (2002-05)
  • Erin Livingston (2001-04)
  • Karen Messner (1974-77)
  • Shayn Mosley (1988-91)


  • Gwen Kerr (1985-88)
  • Liane Stocky (1992-95)



Categories: Sports